Customer’s privacy breached as Three fails to wipe used iPhone

0
339

A Three customer has been left angry after her returned handset containing personal photos was re-sold without being wiped

A Three customer has been left angry after her returned faulty handset containing personal photos was re-sold without being wiped.

According to a national newspaper, Three customer Kacy-Jo Frasca returned her handset a day after purchase in the Gloucester 3 Mobile store back in March – but failed to wipe its content or delete linked accounts.

3 Mobile is understood to have then re-sold the device without wiping it first – exposing the images to the new buyer stored in her iCloud account.

Frasca was contacted directly by a London based man who purchased the device who has been receiving regular update such as uploaded pictures to her iCloud account.

Frasca told the Daily Mail: “I’m incredibly worried about it as he can access all of my personal information. I had an app for my bank installed on that phone and he can see all of my emails and access any data he wants.

 There are some very personal pictures on there that are very private. Photos of me, some of my brother who has passed away, links to my bank accounts, everything.

 While he has promised not to do anything with the information I still can’t help feeling uneasy about it. My phone has my entire life on it.

 I called Apple and Three and they both said it was impossible for this to happen but I know it’s not.

Apple said it may be because the old mobile hasn’t been wiped properly and my iCloud account could still be automatically updating it but they said this was down to the phone company – not them. I’m now just waiting for Three to get back me. I’m just so worried and stressed out.

 It seems ridiculous this could happen and they can’t do anything about it. I want other people to know it could happen to them.”

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY