EE 4G launches in 14 more towns


A total of 131 towns are now connected to the superfast service, which from tomorrow (October 30) will be available on prepay

EE has launched 4G in 14 towns today, bringing the total number of areas to have superfast coverage to 131.

Customers in Benfleet, Caerphilly, Caldicot, Canvey Island, Carlisle, Chepstow, Cwmbran, Grays, Harlow, Hatfield, Kenilworth, Rayleigh, Southport and Worksop can now get 4GEE.

The news comes a day before EE’s 4G prepay plans – the first in the UK – become available, with devices starting at £129.99.

Tomorrow (October 30) also sees the launch of ‘4GEE Extra’ plans which offer double speed 4G (60Mbps), larger data allowances, and inclusive roaming calls and texts in 30 international destinations including the USA and Australia.

EE CEO Olaf Swantee said: “One year on from out launch and we’re now bringing 4G to even more places, and making it available to even more people. Our 4G coverage continues to grow all around the country, and our new plans give consumers and businesses more flexibility and choice in how they access superfast mobile.”