Three adds five more countries to Feel At Home proposition


France, Switzerland, Israel, Finland and Norway now part of 16 destinations where customers can use their monthly UK allowance

Three add five more countries – France, Switzerland, Israel, Finland and Norway – to its Feel At home proposition from July 1. The offer currently enables Three customers to use their UK call, text and data allowances in 11 countries.

Feel At Home was launched last August, initially in Ireland, Australia, Italy, Austria, Hong Kong, Sweden and Denmark. Three then added the USA, Indonesia, Sri Lanka and Macau in December.

It automatically activates as soon as a person arrives in one of the listed countries. The operator said it has agreed commercial agreements with certain networks and the handset will automatically switch to one of them when in those countries.

Three said that if people exceed the limits, they will benefit from roaming charges lower than its own standard rates.

These are 20 per minute for calls, 7p per text message and 10p per MB. Alternatively, if customer’s exceed their allowances and don’t want to be charges roaming rates, they can use the My3 app on their mobile in Feel at Home countries to buy normal UK add-ons.

Customers on contract, prepay and SIM-only can use Feel At Home within their price plan as long as international roaming is activated. Calls and texts to non-UK numbers are charged at standard rates. Tethering is not included, with prepay customers requiring an add-on.

Three chief executive Dave Dyson (pictured) said: “Roaming charges are a rip-off and Three is tackling the issue head-on. We haven’t just reduced charges; we’ve now scrapped them in 16 destinations, making it fairer, easier and more enjoyable to use your phone abroad.

“The addition of five more countries to Feel At Home is another big step and one that marks our determination to eliminate roaming rates full-stop. I want customers to stay connected when they’re overseas without the fear of a nasty bill when they return.”